WHDLOAD Kick Off 2 CV

Talk about EVERYTHING related to Kick Off 1 + 2.

Moderator: Moderators

User avatar
alkis21
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 15014
Joined: Wed Jul 04, 2001 12:00 am
Location: Athens, Greece
Contact:

Re: WHDLOAD Kick Off 2 CV 1.01

Postby alkis21 » Mon Dec 28, 2009 11:15 pm

Hard disk users should know that there's a new patch available that supports KO2CV Version 1.03. You can get it from http://www.whdload.de .
Remember, remember, the 4th and the 3rd of November
Image
User avatar
Stainy
4000+ Poster!
4000+ Poster!
Posts: 4304
Joined: Wed Jun 13, 2001 12:00 am
Location: Concord,NC, USA
Contact:

Re: WHDLOAD Kick Off 2 CV

Postby Stainy » Tue Dec 29, 2009 9:24 am

I also see StingRay is fixing up Player Manager 2 !! hehe god knows why... it`s an aweful game... but some people seem to like it... he`s fixing bugs in the game as he goes... so I guess thats good in one way!
Image
User avatar
alkis21
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 15014
Joined: Wed Jul 04, 2001 12:00 am
Location: Athens, Greece
Contact:

Re: WHDLOAD Kick Off 2 CV

Postby alkis21 » Mon Mar 29, 2010 6:35 am

The new WHDLoad patch for KO2CV1.04 is ready and it can be found in http://www.whdload.de/ . According to StingRay, this slave is programmed in a way so that it will support all future competition versions without the need for an update!
Remember, remember, the 4th and the 3rd of November
Image
User avatar
Steve Camber
Mad! 7000+ poster!
Mad! 7000+ poster!
Posts: 7528
Joined: Sat Jun 16, 2001 12:00 am
Location: Sheffield, England
Contact:

Re: WHDLOAD Kick Off 2 CV

Postby Steve Camber » Mon Mar 29, 2010 10:40 am

I don't think it will work for all future versions - as the executable grows and hits the next 512byte barrier, the bootblock will change, so the checksum will change and the adf will no longer be recognised. In theory anyway!
--
SteveC - Kick Off engineer - Ranked somewhere waaaay down the list
18 Dec 2003 - "One day I'm going to disassemble the 68000 code, and find out exactly what's going on in there!! "

Ask me about online KO2 :)
User avatar
alkis21
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 15014
Joined: Wed Jul 04, 2001 12:00 am
Location: Athens, Greece
Contact:

Re: WHDLOAD Kick Off 2 CV

Postby alkis21 » Mon Mar 29, 2010 10:46 am

Oh well, if it doesn't we still know where to find him. :) I sent him a copy of my game as a minimum token of appreciation for his hard work.
Remember, remember, the 4th and the 3rd of November
Image
User avatar
alkis21
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 15014
Joined: Wed Jul 04, 2001 12:00 am
Location: Athens, Greece
Contact:

Re: WHDLOAD Kick Off 2 CV

Postby alkis21 » Mon Mar 29, 2010 11:09 am

To be precise, what he said to me yesterday was "I now just look for the code sequence that has to be patched instead of using hardcoded offsets (which will change with every update)". In any case, I told him what you said and I am waiting for his comment on it.
Remember, remember, the 4th and the 3rd of November
Image
User avatar
Kostas O
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 758
Joined: Sun Jul 02, 2006 5:36 am
Location: Athens

Re: WHDLOAD Kick Off 2 CV

Postby Kostas O » Mon Mar 29, 2010 11:10 am

alkis21 wrote:I sent him a copy of my game as a minimum token of appreciation for his hard work.


Cornelius' Easter version i imagine...
User avatar
Steve Camber
Mad! 7000+ poster!
Mad! 7000+ poster!
Posts: 7528
Joined: Sat Jun 16, 2001 12:00 am
Location: Sheffield, England
Contact:

Re: WHDLOAD Kick Off 2 CV

Postby Steve Camber » Mon Mar 29, 2010 11:35 am

alkis21 wrote:To be precise, what he said to me yesterday was "I now just look for the code sequence that has to be patched instead of using hardcoded offsets (which will change with every update)". In any case, I told him what you said and I am waiting for his comment on it.

It's just a search for the A1200 "disable cpu cache" code which removes the need for a boot disk, and will vary in position as KO2CV grows. Not sure why this has to be disabled though!
I've also taken the palette and copperlist fixes WHDload applies and imported them directly into KO2CV. No idea what effect that will have as I'm no amiga expert. I was never sure how the palette stuff was working anyway as it made no sense before... maybe just a bit of Dino luck.
--
SteveC - Kick Off engineer - Ranked somewhere waaaay down the list
18 Dec 2003 - "One day I'm going to disassemble the 68000 code, and find out exactly what's going on in there!! "

Ask me about online KO2 :)
User avatar
alkis21
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 15014
Joined: Wed Jul 04, 2001 12:00 am
Location: Athens, Greece
Contact:

Re: WHDLOAD Kick Off 2 CV

Postby alkis21 » Mon Mar 29, 2010 11:39 am

Steve Camber wrote:Not sure why this has to be disabled though!


Because WHDLoad won't work with the Cache disabled, and in any case there is no need for every game to do a software degrade as it's all done internally.
Remember, remember, the 4th and the 3rd of November
Image
StingRay
Posting is free!!!
Posting is free!!!
Posts: 18
Joined: Tue Mar 03, 2009 9:20 pm

Re: WHDLOAD Kick Off 2 CV

Postby StingRay » Mon Mar 29, 2010 11:01 pm

Stainy wrote:I also see StingRay is fixing up Player Manager 2 !! hehe god knows why... it`s an aweful game... but some people seem to like it... he`s fixing bugs in the game as he goes... so I guess thats good in one way!


I just made the patch because people requested it. I don't care if the game is lousy or not because I never play it anyway. :)

Steve Camber wrote:I don't think it will work for all future versions - as the executable grows and hits the next 512byte barrier, the bootblock will change, so the checksum will change and the adf will no longer be recognised. In theory anyway!


This is of course correct, from my source:

Code: Select all

;      - simplified the patch for the Competition version,
;        code searches for the cache stuff and skips it,
;        should now support any future version automagically
;        as long as the bootblock is not changed



However, a possible solution would be that you just load "number of bytes required for game + some more bytes", some more bytes being a value that would leave enough room for any future updates, that way I'd never have to update the WHDLoad slave again when a new Competition version is released.

f.e.:

Code: Select all

MAX_PATCHSIZE = 20480 ; 20480 bytes for any patches (needs to be a multiple of 512)
...
move.l   #GAMESIZE+MAX_PATCHSIZE,$24(a1) ; load game + "buffer"
...


This should solve the "problem" nicely. Let me know what you think.

Steve Camber wrote:It's just a search for the A1200 "disable cpu cache" code which removes the need for a boot disk, and will vary in position as KO2CV grows. Not sure why this has to be disabled though!


It has to be disabled because any OS access is not allowed in WHDLoad, ExecBase contains a "bogus" odd address value which will make WHDLoad terminate with an error as soon as any ExecBase access is detected.

Steve Camber wrote:I've also taken the palette and copperlist fixes WHDload applies and imported them directly into KO2CV. No idea what effect that will have as I'm no amiga expert. I was never sure how the palette stuff was working anyway as it made no sense before... maybe just a bit of Dino luck.


The palette fix is required because the game has a serious bug, it writes palette values to "random" memory locations (really stupid code!), I can't remember why the Copperlist fix was required but it was definitely because of another bug in the game (unfortunately bugs are quite common in Dino Dini games, Goal! has lots of them too f.e.).

alkis21 wrote:Because WHDLoad won't work with the Cache disabled, and in any case there is no need for every game to do a software degrade as it's all done internally.


This is not quite correct, I explained in my reply to Steve why it has to be disabled. :)
User avatar
Steve Camber
Mad! 7000+ poster!
Mad! 7000+ poster!
Posts: 7528
Joined: Sat Jun 16, 2001 12:00 am
Location: Sheffield, England
Contact:

Re: WHDLOAD Kick Off 2 CV

Postby Steve Camber » Fri Apr 02, 2010 12:25 pm

StingRay wrote:However, a possible solution would be that you just load "number of bytes required for game + some more bytes", some more bytes being a value that would leave enough room for any future updates, that way I'd never have to update the WHDLoad slave again when a new Competition version is released.

f.e.:

Code: Select all

MAX_PATCHSIZE = 20480 ; 20480 bytes for any patches (needs to be a multiple of 512)
...
move.l   #GAMESIZE+MAX_PATCHSIZE,$24(a1) ; load game + "buffer"
...


This should solve the "problem" nicely. Let me know what you think.


The "some more bytes" option is not a permanent solution here, more of a "delaying of the inevitable". Have you seen the size of the wishlist!? :lol:
However, I can place an agreed identifier in the bootblock, even including the exact address of the cache disabling code which would signify it as a WHDLoad-friendly KO2CV adf.

How does that sound for a solution?
--
SteveC - Kick Off engineer - Ranked somewhere waaaay down the list
18 Dec 2003 - "One day I'm going to disassemble the 68000 code, and find out exactly what's going on in there!! "

Ask me about online KO2 :)
User avatar
Steve Camber
Mad! 7000+ poster!
Mad! 7000+ poster!
Posts: 7528
Joined: Sat Jun 16, 2001 12:00 am
Location: Sheffield, England
Contact:

Re: WHDLOAD Kick Off 2 CV

Postby Steve Camber » Fri Apr 02, 2010 12:37 pm

StingRay wrote:
Steve Camber wrote:I've also taken the palette and copperlist fixes WHDload applies and imported them directly into KO2CV. No idea what effect that will have as I'm no amiga expert. I was never sure how the palette stuff was working anyway as it made no sense before... maybe just a bit of Dino luck.


The palette fix is required because the game has a serious bug, it writes palette values to "random" memory locations (really stupid code!), I can't remember why the Copperlist fix was required but it was definitely because of another bug in the game (unfortunately bugs are quite common in Dino Dini games, Goal! has lots of them too f.e.).


I've just taken another look at this as it amazes me how it ever worked. It seems like a simple typo - Dino is writing the colours for the palette into DFF080 instead of the correct DFF180. In theory that should have been zapping other registers such as copper list, display and interrupt. Surely KO2 had no right to ever work!! Yet if I disable the code altogether then the palette does not change so it must be doing something useful. Can you shed any light on this? I'm an Amiga noob :oops:
--
SteveC - Kick Off engineer - Ranked somewhere waaaay down the list
18 Dec 2003 - "One day I'm going to disassemble the 68000 code, and find out exactly what's going on in there!! "

Ask me about online KO2 :)
StingRay
Posting is free!!!
Posting is free!!!
Posts: 18
Joined: Tue Mar 03, 2009 9:20 pm

Re: WHDLOAD Kick Off 2 CV

Postby StingRay » Fri Dec 02, 2011 7:21 pm

Steve Camber wrote:The "some more bytes" option is not a permanent solution here, more of a "delaying of the inevitable". Have you seen the size of the wishlist!? :lol:
However, I can place an agreed identifier in the bootblock, even including the exact address of the cache disabling code which would signify it as a WHDLoad-friendly KO2CV adf.

How does that sound for a solution?


Hello again, it's been a while. :) Been quite busy the last months so I didn't check the forum. Anyway, your solution sounds excellent, this will solve the problem nicely. Something like a "KOCV" ID (fits nicely in a long) followed by the offset to the cache disabling code at the end of the bootblock would be perfect I think. What do you think?

I also noticed that you have made quite a few updates to the Competition version meanwhile, I'll add support for the new versions in my WHDLoad patch now.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests