save game, how to?

This forum is dedicated to the original version of Player Manager

Moderator: Moderators

towsonu2003
Posting is free!!!
Posting is free!!!
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Jan 11, 2006 4:49 am

save game, how to?

Postby towsonu2003 » Wed Jan 11, 2006 4:54 am

hi,

I am playing the game of my childhood! thanks people!!

I searched the forum and wiki but could not find anything useful for my situation... I am using emulation on Linux.

Problem is, I cannot save games... According to the threads I found, there needs to be a Empty.adf, but e-uae does not have such an option to format a floppy under Linux... It seems people are sending formatted floppy images to each other?

Could someone do the same thing for me, or give a useful link I can use? For the file, my email is towsonu2003 at yahoo dot com but if there is a way to attach it here, it would be much nicer for others as well... Also, how do I use it??

Thanks all in advance
I am using emulation via Linux...
User avatar
Abyss
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 5901
Joined: Wed Sep 18, 2002 12:00 am
Location: Athens, Greece
Contact:

Postby Abyss » Wed Jan 11, 2006 8:47 am

I don't have WinUAE installed in my work computer, but I can send you one when I get home this evening. However, you can just copy any adf file (so that you don't lose your original adf), open Workbench, mount the copied adf and format it in Workbench
User avatar
Stainy
4000+ Poster!
4000+ Poster!
Posts: 4304
Joined: Wed Jun 13, 2001 12:00 am
Location: Concord,NC, USA
Contact:

here ya

Postby Stainy » Wed Jan 11, 2006 9:16 am

Formatted adf sent via email :) let us know how you get on with it...

think someone uses linux uae.. can`t remember though!
Image
towsonu2003
Posting is free!!!
Posting is free!!!
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Jan 11, 2006 4:49 am

Postby towsonu2003 » Wed Jan 11, 2006 10:59 pm

thanks so much for the help, I got it and it's working! I don't wanna be a noob but, it might be a good thing to upload such an image to the net and give a link to it from Player Manager Guide in the wiki.

thanks again!!

I still can't believe I'm playing the game of my childhood!!!!
I am using emulation via Linux...
User avatar
sugartj
Posting is free!!!
Posting is free!!!
Posts: 39
Joined: Wed Jan 04, 2006 6:56 am
Contact:

WinUAE - Playermanager - insert formatted disk

Postby sugartj » Fri Jan 20, 2006 2:05 pm

Help
I need a formatted disk, too.
Playermanager asks me to insert a formatted disk in drive A.
What can I do?
User avatar
Stainy
4000+ Poster!
4000+ Poster!
Posts: 4304
Joined: Wed Jun 13, 2001 12:00 am
Location: Concord,NC, USA
Contact:

arse

Postby Stainy » Fri Jan 20, 2006 2:13 pm

And you can`t use an adf made in Winuae ??
Image
Katinka
Posting is free!!!
Posting is free!!!
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Aug 04, 2006 11:21 am

same problem

Postby Katinka » Fri Aug 04, 2006 1:14 pm

I have the problem too. I have tried to create a disk via WinUAE, but it doesn't help. Can anybody save me?

Kati
tallbacka
Posting is free!!!
Posting is free!!!
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Jul 10, 2008 12:57 pm

Re: save game, how to?

Postby tallbacka » Thu Jul 10, 2008 1:49 pm

I tried playing PM the version that came with Amiga Forever 2008 and can't start a new game because of the save game disk problem. I have tried to use
1) the save disk from back2theroots
2) formatted and newly created standard disk
3) formatted and newly created custom disk

The first option only results in file error and when I try 2 and 3 nothing happens. Can someone please advice?!?
User avatar
alkis21
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 15014
Joined: Wed Jul 04, 2001 12:00 am
Location: Athens, Greece
Contact:

Re: save game, how to?

Postby alkis21 » Thu Jul 10, 2008 2:20 pm

Remember, remember, the 4th and the 3rd of November
Image
tallbacka
Posting is free!!!
Posting is free!!!
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Jul 10, 2008 12:57 pm

Re: save game, how to?

Postby tallbacka » Thu Jul 10, 2008 3:25 pm

Thanks for trying to help but I get file error message with your disk too
User avatar
alkis21
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 15014
Joined: Wed Jul 04, 2001 12:00 am
Location: Athens, Greece
Contact:

Re: save game, how to?

Postby alkis21 » Thu Jul 10, 2008 3:30 pm

OK that means that the problem is not with the save disk, it's with the version of Player Manager you're trying to use. Try this one instead (click on 'Telecharger').
Remember, remember, the 4th and the 3rd of November
Image
tallbacka
Posting is free!!!
Posting is free!!!
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Jul 10, 2008 12:57 pm

Re: save game, how to?

Postby tallbacka » Thu Jul 10, 2008 5:31 pm

That version gives the same result as before, ie I can load from the disk but when I have created a new game and try to save, it says disk full (even though the blue box is empty) and when I press done and the game prompts me to insert formatted disk it will say file error. I use WinUAE 1.5.0
User avatar
alkis21
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 15014
Joined: Wed Jul 04, 2001 12:00 am
Location: Athens, Greece
Contact:

Re: save game, how to?

Postby alkis21 » Thu Jul 10, 2008 9:15 pm

tallbacka wrote:That version gives the same result as before, ie I can load from the disk but when I have created a new game and try to save, it says disk full (even though the blue box is empty) and when I press done and the game prompts me to insert formatted disk it will say file error. I use WinUAE 1.5.0


When you try to save, which ADF is inside the 'drive', the Player Manager disk or the Save disk? The Save disk needs to be in the drive, and if it says it's full then simply delete one of my files.

Another thing that may be wrong is the configuration you selected. I assume you're using ROM image 1.3? Check out my homepage and enter the configuration that is labeled Amiga 500 1MB.
Remember, remember, the 4th and the 3rd of November
Image

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests