Which Amiga/Atari ST emulator?

Talk about EVERYTHING related to Kick Off 1 + 2.

Moderator: Moderators

Binary
5000+ Poster!
5000+ Poster!
Posts: 5216
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2001 12:00 am
Location: Galway, Ireland
Contact:

Postby Binary » Tue Nov 13, 2001 8:37 am

OK, but still I can't redefine keys with that one... :/

I want to play KO2 with O-P-Q-A-SPACE! <IMG SRC="/phpBB/images/smiles/icon_smile.gif">

(Hope KO2002 will let em redefine keys...)
World Cup 2015 Bronze Cup/Steve Screech Cup Winner

aka "The Kick Off 2 Hustler" and officially the best Portuguese Kick Off player living in Ireland.
Riempie
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 298
Joined: Fri Jun 15, 2001 12:00 am
Location: Groningen, the Netherlands
Contact:

Postby Riempie » Tue Nov 13, 2001 9:49 am

Nope, you can't redefine keys in WInUAE. Why can't you use the arrow keys?
Riempie
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 298
Joined: Fri Jun 15, 2001 12:00 am
Location: Groningen, the Netherlands
Contact:

Postby Riempie » Tue Nov 13, 2001 10:52 am

Look at this! This is how AIAB looks like!

Image



<font size=-1>[ This Message was edited by: Riempie on 2001-11-13 11:53 ]</font>
User avatar
Ely
4000+ Poster!
4000+ Poster!
Posts: 4586
Joined: Sat Jun 09, 2001 12:00 am
Location: Bedford, England
Contact:

Postby Ely » Tue Nov 13, 2001 1:40 pm

Man that looks good <IMG SRC="/phpBB/images/smiles/icon_smile.gif"> <IMG SRC="/phpBB/images/smiles/icon_smile.gif"> <IMG SRC="/phpBB/images/smiles/icon_smile.gif">
NewEly - He is here sometimes...................
http://www.wayoftherodent.com
User avatar
durban
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 19757
Joined: Wed Jun 13, 2001 12:00 am
Location: Cheshire, England.
Contact:

Postby durban » Tue Nov 13, 2001 2:21 pm

I'm lost, I still don't understand what AIAB is?

Do you have to use it with Winuae or is it standalone?

I don't understand how it works on the desktop etc?

Does KO2 play any better?

Is it free??

M
No longer the only UK based Liverpool, Nottingham Forest and Crewe supporter in the whole of the KOA!!!
User avatar
Stainy
4000+ Poster!
4000+ Poster!
Posts: 4304
Joined: Wed Jun 13, 2001 12:00 am
Location: Concord,NC, USA
Contact:

Postby Stainy » Tue Nov 13, 2001 2:42 pm

Damn Durbs <IMG SRC="/phpBB/images/smiles/icon_smile.gif">
ok, It`s an almost full installation of Workbench 3.11, but with extra stuff and al the settings done for you, that pic is what workbench looks like once it`s installed.
It is free, you do need the first disk of Wb3.1 ( I have it if you need it ) When you start Winuae, you can either load a config set for floppy games, workbench or hd games. If you select workbench, then what you see above loads, and it`s an emulated Amiga running workbench with ALL the trimmings, very nice!!
Image
Riempie
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 298
Joined: Fri Jun 15, 2001 12:00 am
Location: Groningen, the Netherlands
Contact:

Postby Riempie » Tue Nov 13, 2001 2:42 pm

AIAB = WinUAE
Some guy just mada a package with cool Amiga software all pre-installed and set up. It is definitely free. You can download it from http://aiab.emuunlim.com

You only need a workbench 3.1 disk and a kickstart 3.1 rom file, you can find these on the net if you search for a while. They are not on the AIAB site becuase he wants to be completely legal.

Have you ever tried WinUAE Durban? Have you tried to run it with a virtual harddrive. If so, then this is a piece of cake for ya. If not, then it should be simple too. Download the AIAB-archive (self executable) and follow the onscreen instructions. There are pre-configured configs for WinUAE itself too, so you shouldn't have to fiddle around with too. I believe the only thing you have to change is the control type (Use keyboard settings B).

Hmm.. maybe I could make a website for this stuff...
User avatar
Steve Camber
Mad! 7000+ poster!
Mad! 7000+ poster!
Posts: 7527
Joined: Sat Jun 16, 2001 12:00 am
Location: Sheffield, England
Contact:

Postby Steve Camber » Tue Nov 13, 2001 2:54 pm

So... what's the point ?
User avatar
durban
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 19757
Joined: Wed Jun 13, 2001 12:00 am
Location: Cheshire, England.
Contact:

Postby durban » Tue Nov 13, 2001 3:44 pm

Ely Riempie, Steve has just echoed my question really.

I don't see what the point of AIAB is?

I use Winuae and have no idea why I would want to emulate a hard drive.

I just use it to play games and stuff.

If it makes KO2 better looking or sounding then I will certainly use it, but if it is just a better looking interface with configured options then I might not install it.

Looks very nice tho I must say.

M
No longer the only UK based Liverpool, Nottingham Forest and Crewe supporter in the whole of the KOA!!!
Riempie
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 298
Joined: Fri Jun 15, 2001 12:00 am
Location: Groningen, the Netherlands
Contact:

Postby Riempie » Tue Nov 13, 2001 4:20 pm

Your right Durban, I never said things were emulated better, it's just a good looking emulation. The advantage of an emulated harddrive is that you can use amiga hd-games now. The cool thing with these games is that they can run with any configuration and you can quit back to the OS at any time, which can't be done with adf-images. These HD-games also saves high-scores, have trainers etc and the games load up very fast.
Binary
5000+ Poster!
5000+ Poster!
Posts: 5216
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2001 12:00 am
Location: Galway, Ireland
Contact:

Postby Binary » Tue Nov 13, 2001 4:24 pm

I'd guess that this would make it easier to save/load PM tactics or KO2 goals? No more virtual-disk swapping?

EDIT: Stainy, can you send me the first disk of WB3.1 to my e-mail? <IMG SRC="/phpBB/images/smiles/icon_smile.gif">

_________________
So long, and thanks for all the fish

<font size=-1>[ This Message was edited by: Binary on 2001-11-13 17:33 ]</font>
User avatar
Beckite
3000+ poster!
3000+ poster!
Posts: 3513
Joined: Wed Jun 27, 2001 12:00 am
Location: Glasgow,Scotland
Contact:

Postby Beckite » Tue Nov 13, 2001 5:33 pm

Riempie,any chance of a copy of that hd version of kick off 2?Oh and is it the 1mb version?Either way id appreciate a copy.
Riempie
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 298
Joined: Fri Jun 15, 2001 12:00 am
Location: Groningen, the Netherlands
Contact:

Postby Riempie » Tue Nov 13, 2001 10:51 pm

Well, there are some limitations to the HD-version of Kick Off 2 for the moment. The author of the patch still has some problems with the Golden Goal, Action Replay, save stuff etc.. It's still the beta version. But the game is playable, I never thought you would be interested in the other features when running Kick Off 2 in emulation. If someone is good in amiga programming, then maybe someone can help him with this patch...

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest