Page 1 of 2

Amiga on 42" screen?

Posted: Fri Jan 08, 2016 12:23 pm
by Freshmaker
Been thinking about this a while. I remember giving it a go once, but the game was totally sluggish. Like online with baaaad connection.

Would there be a way to hook the Amiga up to a 'modernish' tv, and having it working properly? Would be awesome to be able to just have it always available, in the living room...

Re: Amiga on 42" screen?

Posted: Fri Jan 08, 2016 1:20 pm
by Steve Camber
It may help to set the TV to "Game mode" if that's anywhere in the settings. Modern TVs like to spend ages 'improving' the image before actually displaying it causing a delay. That's to be avoided if poss.

Re: Amiga on 42" screen?

Posted: Fri Jan 08, 2016 2:40 pm
by Freshmaker
Good call! I'll see if my tv's got that mode.

But, are there no boxes or hubs or something to use, to fix the signal?

Re: Amiga on 42" screen?

Posted: Fri Jan 08, 2016 3:56 pm
by Steve Camber
Just a scart cable should do. The less junk between the amiga and the TV the better basically.

Re: Amiga on 42" screen?

Posted: Fri Jan 08, 2016 4:16 pm
by kofoed
A more advanced option is the Indivision ECS Scandoubler, you can also use it to connect the amiga to a monitor using a VGA-cable. But it is EUR 100 so quite expensive.

http://amigakit.leamancomputing.com/cat ... rrency=EUR

I am thinking of getting the AGA-version for my A1200.

Re: Amiga on 42" screen?

Posted: Fri Jan 08, 2016 11:08 pm
by Freshmaker
Holy crap! €100??? Nuts! I'm sticking to my 14" crt...

Re: Amiga on 42" screen?

Posted: Sat Jan 09, 2016 12:13 am
by Lee W
i've been playing on a 19inch widescreen lcd tv lately cause that's about all i have, but it's just not right... there's nothing like a crt for that authentic retro feel :)

Re: Amiga on 42" screen?

Posted: Sat Jan 09, 2016 1:25 am
by thor
I believe Gianni is using a G-sync monitor to create a perfect emulation.

Re: Amiga on 42" screen?

Posted: Sat Jan 09, 2016 7:53 am
by Steve Camber
Yeah, Gianni has the optimum non-crt setup.

Re: Amiga on 42" screen?

Posted: Sat Jan 09, 2016 7:56 am
by Freshmaker
Then Gianni needs to fill in with important knowledge.

Re: Amiga on 42" screen?

Posted: Sat Jan 09, 2016 8:36 am
by kofoed
But that is more on the subject "Minimizing Screen delay on PC to perfect Emulated/ported Kick Off 2" which of course also is interesting. It's also on a completely other level cost-wise.

Re: Amiga on 42" screen?

Posted: Sat Jan 09, 2016 9:53 am
by Freshmaker
Oh, yes, emulation... This wasn't a topic about emulators, I wanted to see if there's a possibility to hook my amiga up to my 42" plasma-screen. Might just try Steve's suggestion of 'game mode' if such exists on my cheapo screen.

Re: Amiga on 42" screen?

Posted: Sat Jan 09, 2016 12:55 pm
by Steve1977
A few years ago we did this at Si's and couldn't work out what the issue was originally but then realised there was a lag.
It does work better on Plasma TV's but...another way around this is a simple lead from Amiga Kit - costs aboutu £15 I believe.

I did a blog post on it here: https://pressfiretoplay.wordpress.com/2 ... s-the-end/