Help needed getting Kick Off Competition Version to work!

Talk about EVERYTHING related to Kick Off 1 + 2.

Moderator: Moderators

jonsurf
Posting is free!!!
Posting is free!!!

Help needed getting Kick Off Competition Version to work!

Postby jonsurf » Sat May 24, 2008 10:58 am

Hi there

I'm completely new to the Kick Off forum and to Amiga! I've been playing Kick Off 2 Final Whistle with my mate on the ST since 91 and we now want to be able to play the competition version on the Amiga with a view to taking part in tournaments in future. I've bought a very basic A500 (512k I think). I wonder whether anyone can help us get set up :D , I've got a few questions...

* Which is the latest competition version of Kick Off/Final Whistle? Will it work on the A500?
* I don't seem to have a Workbench disk, will I need to get one or is there a way to boot up Workbench without a disk?
* How do I transfer the image file for the competition version from the PC to the A500 and get it to run?

Any help would be much appreciated :)

Many thanks

Jon
alkis21

Re: Help needed getting Kick Off Competition Version to work!

Postby alkis21 » Sat May 24, 2008 11:09 am

Hello Jon, welcome to the KOA.

jonsurf wrote:* Which is the latest competition version of Kick Off/Final Whistle? Will it work on the A500?

The last version is 0.2.1. I don't remember whether FW needs 1MB of RAM to work. Can anyone confirm?

* I don't seem to have a Workbench disk, will I need to get one or is there a way to boot up Workbench without a disk?

The Workbench is not needed.

* How do I transfer the image file for the competition version from the PC to the A500 and get it to run?

It is not easy with a standard A500 without a hard disk, you'd need to get hold of a bunch of stuff and if all you want to transfer is one disk it's not worth the trouble. The best solution would be for you to meet your nearest KOAer. Where are you located?
Remember, remember, the 4th and the 3rd of November
gdh82
6000+ Poster!