Page 1 of 2

ATARI ST Version Modification

Posted: Wed Feb 27, 2008 9:06 am
by projectyle
Hello together,

is it possible to modified the ST Verion like the Amiga Version?

Re: ATARI ST Version Modification

Posted: Wed Feb 27, 2008 9:30 am
by Steve Camber
Yes, that's possible. It's not a quick job though, and nobody really plays the ST version any more.. not even me!

Re: ATARI ST Version Modification

Posted: Wed Feb 27, 2008 10:28 am
by Setzer
I have a Kick Off 2 version for Atari 520 STe... Graphics are so poor in comparison with Amiga's version ^^"

Re: ATARI ST Version Modification

Posted: Wed Feb 27, 2008 10:48 am
by projectyle
I´m use the STEEM Emulator to play Kick Off 2. What tool´s i need, to modified the ST Version.

Re: ATARI ST Version Modification

Posted: Wed Feb 27, 2008 12:30 pm
by projectyle
Setzer wrote:I have a Kick Off 2 version for Atari 520 STe... Graphics are so poor in comparison with Amiga's version ^^"


Atari 520 STe ?????

You mean Atari 1040 STE!

Re: ATARI ST Version Modification

Posted: Wed Feb 27, 2008 7:10 pm
by Steve Camber
projectyle wrote:I´m use the STEEM Emulator to play Kick Off 2. What tool´s i need, to modified the ST Version.

I don't think it's going to happen anytime soon. There is no simple tool, somebody has to spend some time analysing and modifying the code based upon knowledge already learned from the Amiga version.

Re: ATARI ST Version Modification

Posted: Wed Feb 27, 2008 8:32 pm
by Setzer
projectyle wrote:
Setzer wrote:I have a Kick Off 2 version for Atari 520 STe... Graphics are so poor in comparison with Amiga's version ^^"

Atari 520 STe ?????
You mean Atari 1040 STE!

No, it's Atari 520 STe (bought around 1990), I'm sure of this, I over-played with it. ^^

Re: ATARI ST Version Modification

Posted: Wed Feb 27, 2008 10:58 pm
by goalkeeper
Yes there was a 520 and 1040 Atari like Amiga 500 and Amiga 1000. Later Atari Falcon but ffs I will not play the Austrian Open on an Atari :) Welcom here too "disloyaler" :wink:

Re: ATARI ST Version Modification

Posted: Wed Dec 23, 2015 1:37 am
by durban
I was actually just thinking about this.
Steve do we know if the 'gameplay' found in the Amiga version (especially stuff like PBD etc) was in any of the ST versions at all?

I don't think we have ever really looked in depth at the Atari Version and its flaws (or indeed its positives)

Re: ATARI ST Version Modification

Posted: Wed Dec 23, 2015 2:06 am
by Steve Camber
KO2 was written on ST and ported to the amiga. It's from exactly the same source code!

Not sure if there's a legit released Atari version of KO2 with PBD in there. I guess it's possible..
Nobody has really studied it as far as I know. Probably because people just get migraines :)

Re: ATARI ST Version Modification

Posted: Wed Dec 23, 2015 2:18 am
by durban
I thought that was the case, but didn't want to say in case it wasn't true!

I wonder what Dino thought porting to Amiga, and the fact he could make it look so much better :)

Re: ATARI ST Version Modification

Posted: Thu Jan 28, 2016 8:58 pm
by iankay
From memory only difference between Atari 520 STFM and Amiga was latter had nets, former only had posts. No PBD in my STFM version but did have fun things like corners at the wrong end and sent-off players returning.

Re: ATARI ST Version Modification

Posted: Wed Sep 07, 2016 9:44 pm
by thonglith
Hi there,

I'm a newbie around but as I happened to own an Atari ST myself, I'm wondering what you're refering to when you use the "PBD" term. I'm trying to gather as much information as possible to prepare my first entry to the World Cup that will be held in Milano this year. :)

Olivier V.