KO2 Technical Problems - advice please

Talk about EVERYTHING related to Kick Off 1 + 2.

Moderator: Moderators

Robert Swift
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 16347
Joined: Fri Jun 15, 2001 12:00 am

Postby Robert Swift » Thu Feb 14, 2002 1:03 am

This is one for you techies, especially people like Camber, Stainy and Ely who are into Amiga DIY.

In the last week I have developed a depressing problem with the Amiga spontaneously resetting while I am playing KO2. This is threatening my preparation for Gloucester, to the extent that I actually may not win the tournament.

The resetting was getting so regular and annoying (i.e. repeatedly a few minutes into the first or second game of any KO2 session) that I started to fear my Amiga 1200 was £UC<€D.

My first line of attack was "It's a software problem" and therefore to remove my 'emergency backup copy' of the KO2 Oracle crack from a box, where is has spent years waiting for precisely this event. Using this the resetting seemed to stop, I thought my normal copy was corrupted, but then the symptoms annoyingly continued.

So, I got my original, shop-purchased version of KO2, loaded that, and had 4 games before the screen flickered again and the bastard reset.

My latest theory is, it's either the power pack or the monitor. The screen flicker prior to the lastest cracsh seemed to indicate the monitor may have had a power surge which upset the Amiga, so I have replaced it with a gay portable TV. I managed 4 or 5 games without the thing resetting, but have now stopped for the evening due to intense anger.

I must say that there is nothing more off-putting to a KO2 player than the idea that the machine may reset, at any moment, for no particular reason. If I run out of options then I may have to buy a 'new' Amiga.

Questions:

1) What the hell is going on?
2) Is it credible that a small Phillips monitor can crash the Amiga?
3) What if it continues crashing even with the portable TV?
4) Has anyone else experienced this?
5) Could it be any kind of virus??

Bonus question:

6) My cruiser is battered and the diagonals are failing. Has anyone successfully bought one in the last six months and from what source. NB don't tell me Cruisers are cr@p, I already know.
User avatar
Beckite
3000+ poster!
3000+ poster!
Posts: 3513
Joined: Wed Jun 27, 2001 12:00 am
Location: Glasgow,Scotland
Contact:

Postby Beckite » Thu Feb 14, 2002 1:36 am

Im no tech Robert but have you tried playing any other amiga games for comparison?
“I drink too much. Will you tell me one great actor who doesn't drink?”


Robert Shaw

1927-1978
User avatar
Danny D
4000+ Poster!
4000+ Poster!
Posts: 4765
Joined: Mon Jun 11, 2001 12:00 am
Contact:

Postby Danny D » Thu Feb 14, 2002 1:45 am

As regards your cruiser.I assume it's a joystick.If this is the case the solution is to buy a Greek Joystick.

I reckon your powersupply is gone lame.Try swapping it with someone elses.If it still occurs it's the motherboard,so get a new Amiga.
"We are now on the threshold of a newer movement, with a newer hope and a new inspiration."
James Larkin
User avatar
Ely
4000+ Poster!
4000+ Poster!
Posts: 4586
Joined: Sat Jun 09, 2001 12:00 am
Location: Bedford, England
Contact:

Postby Ely » Thu Feb 14, 2002 8:15 am

Well being a 'techie', cheers Robert <IMG SRC="/phpBB/images/smiles/icon_smile.gif"> <IMG SRC="/phpBB/images/smiles/icon_smile.gif"> I'd go with it being the Power Supply. You can rule out monitors & TV they can't do that kind of thing to your Amiga. A virus, how ?? All you use it for is KO2 and PM and you've been using them disks for ages. Could be the motherboard itself, but definitley check the Power Supply first. Can you get hold of a spare one ??
NewEly - He is here sometimes...................
http://www.wayoftherodent.com
User avatar
VKafiris
6000+ Poster!
6000+ Poster!
Posts: 6847
Joined: Sat Oct 06, 2001 12:00 am
Location: Athens, Greece
Contact:

Postby VKafiris » Thu Feb 14, 2002 8:19 am

It sounds like a power supply failure. Have you checked it with other games just in case? Same thing was happening with my pc some months ago. I changed the power supplier and it worked.
Vassilis - Official KOA Black Sheep
2016 World Cup XVI (Milan) - Silver Cup Winner
Image
User avatar
durban
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 19757
Joined: Wed Jun 13, 2001 12:00 am
Location: Cheshire, England.
Contact:

Postby durban » Thu Feb 14, 2002 8:20 am

Not being registered as a tecchie <IMG SRC="/phpBB/images/smiles/icon_frown.gif">

Personally I guaran'dam'tee it will be the connection between the MB and PSU.

Try booting up to the workbench and then messing about with the power (like gently moving the lead about at the back) if it crackles or causes a reboot then its that.

However if the thing is crashing after x mins then it may also be a resistor in the PSU itself is up the spout. Best advice, in this case is to borrow a friends psu for the night and see if that sorts it out.

If the Amiga with the borrowed PSU is still crashing then it may well be the board itself, get in touch with a PC shop and see if they will have a look at it for you.

It aint the monitor, it aint a virus and it aint the Amiga's time of the month.

M
No longer the only UK based Liverpool, Nottingham Forest and Crewe supporter in the whole of the KOA!!!
Robert Swift
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 16347
Joined: Fri Jun 15, 2001 12:00 am

Postby Robert Swift » Thu Feb 14, 2002 11:09 am

OK, now I'm puzzled. Thanks all for your advice.

Steve Screech is coming round tomorrow for practice. I'll ask him to bring an A1200 power supply.

I am still leaning towards the monitor idea - when I switched to the portable TV I left it on for 3 hours without it resetting. While it was connected to the monitor, it would typically reset within 20 mins of loading KO2. However the strange thing is that it's only ever crashed DURING games, so maybe just leaving it on isn't the best test and it IS some kind of software problem (although I can't see what).

Questions:

1) If I find the Amiga is stable on the portable TV, I'll want to use it on scart. How do I connect it to the portable? What lead do I need? What is on each end? There isn't a scart output at the back of the Amiga - what do you guys use? Are they easy to come by?

2) Where can I buy a replacement power pack? Vasilis where did you get yours?

3) Is there anywhere selling 'new' i.e. unused A1200's? It might be a good investment, but I don't want a someone's second hand one with all its own faults.
User avatar
VKafiris
6000+ Poster!
6000+ Poster!
Posts: 6847
Joined: Sat Oct 06, 2001 12:00 am
Location: Athens, Greece
Contact:

Postby VKafiris » Thu Feb 14, 2002 11:13 am

2) I got a power supplier for my PC not my amiga mate. Maybe you can check ebay or amigastuff for that.
Vassilis - Official KOA Black Sheep
2016 World Cup XVI (Milan) - Silver Cup Winner
Image
Robert Swift
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 16347
Joined: Fri Jun 15, 2001 12:00 am

Postby Robert Swift » Thu Feb 14, 2002 11:15 am

Ah yes, I misread - you are posting fast today!
User avatar
Ely
4000+ Poster!
4000+ Poster!
Posts: 4586
Joined: Sat Jun 09, 2001 12:00 am
Location: Bedford, England
Contact:

Postby Ely » Thu Feb 14, 2002 11:36 am

Robert I assume you are using the Modulator for the Portable TV and the Composite Video Out for the Monitor. I guess it's possible that that connection could be iffy.

As said before by Durbs. wobble the connector about and see if it makes any difference, could be a loose wires or dry soldered joint and it's short circuiting the MB.

I ain't got a A1200 so can't totally comment on cables. But for Scart you need a 23Way D to Scart, there's a port on the Amiga A500 next to the Serial Port, i assume it's very similar on the A1200. Cable available from Amigastuff.co.uk for 13.99 I think. I got mine a couple of weeks ago, amazing picture <IMG SRC="/phpBB/images/smiles/icon_smile.gif"> <IMG SRC="/phpBB/images/smiles/icon_smile.gif">

<font size=-1>[ This Message was edited by: Ely on 2002-02-14 12:38 ]</font>
User avatar
Stainy
4000+ Poster!
4000+ Poster!
Posts: 4304
Joined: Wed Jun 13, 2001 12:00 am
Location: Concord,NC, USA
Contact:

Postby Stainy » Thu Feb 14, 2002 2:33 pm

I would say it`s the power pack as well, Robert, is it one of the light power packs or one of the heavy ones??? if it`s light, then I would say it`s that.

Any other peripherals I would say no like Ely said, they don`t do that type of thing.
Probably the capicitors in the power supply, that have crapped out, giving you OUTS!!
wiggle every cable, and the connnectors to and from evey cable too

_________________
Everybody pisses on the floor. Be a hero and sh*t on the ceiling

<font size=-1>[ This Message was edited by: Stainy on 2002-02-14 15:34 ]</font>
User avatar
Steve Camber
Mad! 7000+ poster!
Mad! 7000+ poster!
Posts: 7528
Joined: Sat Jun 16, 2001 12:00 am
Location: Sheffield, England
Contact:

Postby Steve Camber » Thu Feb 14, 2002 9:16 pm

Get yourself a scart cable from amigastuff.co.uk - it's a must.

Old ST's can flake out in a similar way. The solution myself and Jim resorted to after many frustrating hours sans-ko2 was to bend the motherboard. Yep, that's right, there was a dry joint somewhere in there or something, but we eventually got the sucker stable by holding the motherboard bent by some means.

I guess you should rule out PSU problems first before resorting the motherboard trick.
--
SteveC - Kick Off engineer - Ranked somewhere waaaay down the list
18 Dec 2003 - "One day I'm going to disassemble the 68000 code, and find out exactly what's going on in there!! "

Ask me about online KO2 :)
Robert Swift
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 16347
Joined: Fri Jun 15, 2001 12:00 am

Postby Robert Swift » Thu Feb 14, 2002 11:58 pm

OK this evening I booted up with KO2 and it seemed to reset *during* bootup.

I am still connected to the portable TV. So, anxious to replicate the fault and condemn the Judas power pack, I loaded KO2.

I've left it switched on all night and played the odd game - no reset yet. I also wiggled all leads, power and video, including the ones coming in and out of the (big heavy) power pack - none of this caused a reset.

My next thoughts are to continue with the Portable TV tomorrow, when Mr Screech comes round, and to see if we can get through a whole session without a crash. I'll ask him to bring an A1200 power pack so that, if we do get a reset, I can then try his.

If we still get a reset with Steve's power pack, and with the portable TV, then it must be the internals of the Amiga, in which case I have to try and buy a replacement, preferably without problems of its own.

Questions / points:

1) Ely, I'm not using an external modulator - the A1200 is built in (not sure I understood what you meant).

2) Durban, OK I forgot you were a techie too, is there really anyone anywhere capable to open up an Amiga and solve such a problem? Or might I just as well 'throw it away'?

3) Could it possibly, possibly, be the sort of problem that either happens in the first 10-15 minutes or not at all, because something (Amiga, PSU, Monitor?) has 'warmed up'? When I go away and leave it switched on for hours, it doesn't crash, but when I'm plugging away at the first game of the evening it just resets.

Oh the agony of intermittent faults.....

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests