Page 1 of 2

No Joy :(

Posted: Wed Jul 13, 2011 5:29 pm
by JamesBu
Hi,

I've recently downloaded the PC version of KO2, and bought myself a Speedlink Competition Pro USB joystick so I can get some much (much) needed practice in ahead of the World Cup.

But the KO2 game doesn't want to recognise the joystick - even though the PC driver can see it. When I load the game I also get a weird message telling me that the "WINUAE could not create Registry Keys! You need administrator privileges"

Don't know what's going on, but desperate to play. All help is greatly appreciated...

Re: No Joy :(

Posted: Wed Jul 13, 2011 6:30 pm
by gdh82
Hi James! Good to see you back. I'm probably not the best person to comment on these matters but it sounds like your PC is preventing you from installing because you lack administration rights? Can you log on as the administrator and try it?

Are you installing the WinUAE emulator? I think the same version as mine is found here: http://www.ko-gathering.com/wiki/index. ... =Main_Page

If you're going this route then here are my settings:

Image

Have a look at my red signature link for other useful threads, and I'm sure one of the other guys here will be able to put you straight soon enough. Good luck and don't give up! :)

Re: No Joy :(

Posted: Wed Jul 13, 2011 8:15 pm
by JamesBu
Thanks for the help. Downloaded the emulator, and set the Game & I/O port so that Port 0: was "SPEED-LINK Competition PRO" (the joystick I have) but still no sucess. Will keep playing around until it works (could be a loooooong night).

Re: No Joy :(

Posted: Wed Jul 13, 2011 8:31 pm
by gdh82
Try swapping ports?

Re: No Joy :(

Posted: Wed Jul 13, 2011 8:49 pm
by JamesBu
Played around a bit - and up and running!!!! Game is a little slow though.

Thanks for your help. Will get practicing!!

Re: No Joy :(

Posted: Wed Jul 13, 2011 8:53 pm
by alkis21
James,

1) Download this configuration.
2) Copy it in the 'Configurations' folder
3) Run WinUAE
4) Go to the Configurations menu and load A500T
5) Go to the ROM menu and locate your Main ROM file (you do have one of those, don't you?)
6) Go to the Game Ports menu and select your joystick in Port 1
7) Return to the Configurations menu and click on Save
8) Go to the Floppy drives menu and "insert" the Kick Off 2 ADF in DF0:
9) Click on Start

Hopefully this will work.

EDIT: Posted just a tad too late, I'm glad you solved it.

Re: No Joy :(

Posted: Wed Jul 13, 2011 9:05 pm
by JamesBu
Thanks anway Alkis :)

Re: No Joy :(

Posted: Thu Jul 14, 2011 5:58 pm
by gdh82
JamesBu wrote:Played around a bit - and up and running!!!!


8)

Re: No Joy :(

Posted: Mon Aug 15, 2011 8:26 pm
by Vag
JamesBu wrote:Game is a little slow though.

I don't know if that's what you mean but the SPEEDLINK joystick shows some lag for the movements! After someone had told me that, I tried it myself and I think he was right. It's probably the chip for the USB connection, not Windows or UAE.
That joystick is great if you had the original but not very good for KO2 or MAME (depending on the game).

Re: No Joy :(

Posted: Tue Jul 24, 2012 8:37 am
by sparkywrex
alkis 21 - i click on your configuration link but what do i do with it?

a severe novice here

i have downloaded the emulator and others, really want to get stuck into this game after a 19 year abscense

Re: No Joy :(

Posted: Tue Jul 24, 2012 8:48 am
by alkis21
Don't left click on it, right click -> save us and then follow the rest that I write.

Re: No Joy :(

Posted: Tue Jul 24, 2012 10:21 pm
by sparkywrex
thank you for your time in replying, but could you possibly email me or inbox me a step by step guide for a complete novice please :) i apologise

Re: No Joy :(

Posted: Wed Jul 25, 2012 5:35 am
by alkis21
What's wrong with this one?

alkis21 wrote:1) Download this configuration.
2) Copy it in the 'Configurations' folder
3) Run WinUAE
4) Go to the Configurations menu and load A500T
5) Go to the ROM menu and locate your Main ROM file (you do have one of those, don't you?)
6) Go to the Game Ports menu and select your joystick in Port 1
7) Return to the Configurations menu and click on Save
8) Go to the Floppy drives menu and "insert" the Kick Off 2 ADF in DF0:
9) Click on Start