Page 1 of 1

Action replay ffs!

Posted: Mon May 16, 2005 9:59 am
by durban
Is there anyway Camber can put the Action replay facility into PM ffs.

Its so annyoning that its not there, I mean I understand why as its ko1 not ko2 etc, but even so.....

Posted: Mon May 16, 2005 10:01 am
by Steve Camber
Action Replay ffs?!

ok, so what exactly is that?

and I'm guessing "no" is going to be the answer you get ;)

Posted: Mon May 16, 2005 12:11 pm
by durban
Ok Steve you know what the Action Replay is surely?

You know when you score a nice goal......

Oh hold on perhaps you don't know :lol:

I just wondered whether the code for the replay facility can be ported into PM, I am guessing no as well but thought I would ask as you are a genius.

I was thinking tho if it was a module called by the main program to somehow go thru the memory or something, but I am guessing that in reality the replay is 'stored' real time and then just played back, so to add it INTO the code would be hard.

M

Posted: Mon May 16, 2005 12:35 pm
by Steve Camber
Ah, I get ya! Was thinking of an action reply cartridge, sorry.

In KO2, the replay buffer is just a record of the last 1000 sprites sent to the screen.

and the answer, as predicted, is no. :lol:

Posted: Mon May 16, 2005 12:52 pm
by jesper
Steve Camber wrote:Ah, I get ya! Was thinking of an action reply cartridge, sorry.

To much hacking eh Camber? :lol:

Btw I donwloaded the Action Replay cartridge roms some time ago. They are supposed
to work in uae but now luck for me. Ever tried that?

Steve Camber wrote:In KO2, the replay buffer is just a record of the last 1000 sprites sent to the screen.

and the answer, as predicted, is no. :lol:


Do you have any info on the way they are saved on disc? If I knew more about the format I could make a PC Action Replay application or applet. Just the coords of the players and the camera position on the pitch is needed.

Posted: Mon May 16, 2005 1:08 pm
by Steve Camber
All I know at the moment about the replay system is it's 6000 bytes long, with room for the last 1000 sprites (which didn't get clipped from the screen, so players off the screen are not recorded.. damn).

Each sprite is saved as 2 bytes for X coordinate, 2 bytes for Y coordinate,
and two bytes for the sprite number.

The pitch dimensions are 0xc0 to 0x2d0 in X and 0xd8 to 0x498 in Y.

There's probably some special markers in there, could take a proper look if you really want!

Posted: Mon May 16, 2005 2:03 pm
by jesper
Finish the tournament version adf first, then take a look at it when you get the time.
Since I have already played a bit around with the pitches and sprites in C using SDL
it would be really easy for me to do the replay application given the information I mentioned.
Also, I don't know much about Amiga hardware sprites, but I guess I would "just" need
to map each one to the sprites in the sprite bitmaps.

Posted: Mon May 16, 2005 2:15 pm
by Steve Camber
Yep, I wouldn't be surprised if the "sprite number" followed the pattern of the player bitmaps we have already extracted. So just take the X and Y as the screen coordinates (320x240ish) and display (hoepfully) the right bitmap :)