Page 1 of 3

Posted: Tue Feb 05, 2002 6:14 pm
by Guest
help i wanna save and load on player manager as i have found it now and got it working how do i do this all i get is insert disk in drive a all the time do i need special software or an emulator that can read st disks??? as i have such a world beating team thanx in advance danny

Posted: Wed Feb 06, 2002 3:01 pm
by Stainy
You are gonna need to speak to Ely, him and Darren, they are both PM ST boys. they`ll help ya

Posted: Wed Feb 06, 2002 3:31 pm
by Ely
Mr. Anonymous Email me at m.elliott@virgin.net and i'll send to you a program to read ST disks on your PC and create an Image File of them.

Posted: Wed Feb 06, 2002 4:56 pm
by Darren
Damn, beat me to it Ely <IMG SRC="/phpBB/images/smiles/icon_wink.gif">

Posted: Wed Feb 06, 2002 5:05 pm
by Ely
Hehe, i'm going to send him IMGBUILD and MAKEDISK, do you know any others Daz mate ??

Posted: Thu Feb 07, 2002 2:54 pm
by Guest
Hello, Daniel here

I have the problem where once the environment has been created I am asked to put a formatted disk in drive a . I am stuck here. I dont know what it means so i just click ok. Obviously it just goes back to the same screen. What do i need to do? Is it the same problem as above? I dont know if i can save or load as i havent yet tried.
Any help greatly apprecaited.
Regards
Daniel

Posted: Thu Feb 07, 2002 2:56 pm
by VKafiris
Create an image of a formatted disk and "insert" it. Then it should work.

Posted: Thu Feb 07, 2002 3:06 pm
by Guest
Thanks for the reply butI dont understand how to do that.

I forgot to say, its on the ST and the emulator im using is Steem Engine.


Regards
Dan

Posted: Thu Feb 07, 2002 3:47 pm
by Ely
Dan get yourself regisitered on here mate <IMG SRC="/phpBB/images/smiles/icon_smile.gif"> As for a blank formatted disk. It wants an image of a disk on your hardisk. I think STeem Engine has an option to create one, or you can use MAKEDISK to do it like this ;

MAKEDISK /CREATE BLANK.ST /TRACK 80 /SECTOR 9 /SIDE 2

Then you'll end up with a file on your PC called BLANK.ST that'll be 720Kb you need to eject your PlayerManager Disk in STeem and put that one in it's place. Let us know how you get on <IMG SRC="/phpBB/images/smiles/icon_smile.gif">

Posted: Thu Feb 07, 2002 4:03 pm
by Darren
What I do for STeem and blank disks is:

Go to the screen where you insert a disk and press the right mouse button where the disks are, choose "New standard disk image" and give the disk a name. When asked for a blank disk, drag the blank disk into drive a and click ok <IMG SRC="/phpBB/images/smiles/icon_smile.gif">

Concerning saving games, I use snapshots. You see the camera up the top left? Click on that and save and it saves the game EXACTLY where you are. Handy if you need to go out in the middle of a match <IMG SRC="/phpBB/images/smiles/icon_wink.gif">

Hope that helps, any questions still, post em <IMG SRC="/phpBB/images/smiles/icon_smile.gif">

<font size=-1>[ This Message was edited by: Darren on 2002-02-07 17:06 ]</font>

Posted: Thu Feb 07, 2002 4:06 pm
by Ely
Good stuff Darren, I thought you could do it in STeem, but i'm at work and couldn't have a look. I've never need to do it myself. Yeah Snapshots are great, makes Emulators so much better <IMG SRC="/phpBB/images/smiles/icon_smile.gif"> <IMG SRC="/phpBB/images/smiles/icon_smile.gif">

Posted: Thu Feb 07, 2002 4:26 pm
by Darren
Snapshots are brilliant, only prob is in some games its KINDA like cheating. I mean you can play Kick Off and save a snapshot just before a penalty shootout, and if you lose, go back straight to the start of the shootout <IMG SRC="/phpBB/images/smiles/icon_wink.gif">

Posted: Thu Feb 07, 2002 4:29 pm
by Stainy
THis snapshot deal is in Steem?