Page 1 of 3

save game, how to?

Posted: Wed Jan 11, 2006 4:54 am
by towsonu2003
hi,

I am playing the game of my childhood! thanks people!!

I searched the forum and wiki but could not find anything useful for my situation... I am using emulation on Linux.

Problem is, I cannot save games... According to the threads I found, there needs to be a Empty.adf, but e-uae does not have such an option to format a floppy under Linux... It seems people are sending formatted floppy images to each other?

Could someone do the same thing for me, or give a useful link I can use? For the file, my email is towsonu2003 at yahoo dot com but if there is a way to attach it here, it would be much nicer for others as well... Also, how do I use it??

Thanks all in advance

Posted: Wed Jan 11, 2006 8:47 am
by Abyss
I don't have WinUAE installed in my work computer, but I can send you one when I get home this evening. However, you can just copy any adf file (so that you don't lose your original adf), open Workbench, mount the copied adf and format it in Workbench

here ya

Posted: Wed Jan 11, 2006 9:16 am
by Stainy
Formatted adf sent via email :) let us know how you get on with it...

think someone uses linux uae.. can`t remember though!

Posted: Wed Jan 11, 2006 10:59 pm
by towsonu2003
thanks so much for the help, I got it and it's working! I don't wanna be a noob but, it might be a good thing to upload such an image to the net and give a link to it from Player Manager Guide in the wiki.

thanks again!!

I still can't believe I'm playing the game of my childhood!!!!

WinUAE - Playermanager - insert formatted disk

Posted: Fri Jan 20, 2006 2:05 pm
by sugartj
Help
I need a formatted disk, too.
Playermanager asks me to insert a formatted disk in drive A.
What can I do?

arse

Posted: Fri Jan 20, 2006 2:13 pm
by Stainy
And you can`t use an adf made in Winuae ??

same problem

Posted: Fri Aug 04, 2006 1:14 pm
by Katinka
I have the problem too. I have tried to create a disk via WinUAE, but it doesn't help. Can anybody save me?

Kati

Re: save game, how to?

Posted: Thu Jul 10, 2008 1:49 pm
by tallbacka
I tried playing PM the version that came with Amiga Forever 2008 and can't start a new game because of the save game disk problem. I have tried to use
1) the save disk from back2theroots
2) formatted and newly created standard disk
3) formatted and newly created custom disk

The first option only results in file error and when I try 2 and 3 nothing happens. Can someone please advice?!?

Re: save game, how to?

Posted: Thu Jul 10, 2008 2:20 pm
by alkis21

Re: save game, how to?

Posted: Thu Jul 10, 2008 3:25 pm
by tallbacka
Thanks for trying to help but I get file error message with your disk too

Re: save game, how to?

Posted: Thu Jul 10, 2008 3:30 pm
by alkis21
OK that means that the problem is not with the save disk, it's with the version of Player Manager you're trying to use. Try this one instead (click on 'Telecharger').

Re: save game, how to?

Posted: Thu Jul 10, 2008 5:31 pm
by tallbacka
That version gives the same result as before, ie I can load from the disk but when I have created a new game and try to save, it says disk full (even though the blue box is empty) and when I press done and the game prompts me to insert formatted disk it will say file error. I use WinUAE 1.5.0

Re: save game, how to?

Posted: Thu Jul 10, 2008 9:15 pm
by alkis21
tallbacka wrote:That version gives the same result as before, ie I can load from the disk but when I have created a new game and try to save, it says disk full (even though the blue box is empty) and when I press done and the game prompts me to insert formatted disk it will say file error. I use WinUAE 1.5.0


When you try to save, which ADF is inside the 'drive', the Player Manager disk or the Save disk? The Save disk needs to be in the drive, and if it says it's full then simply delete one of my files.

Another thing that may be wrong is the configuration you selected. I assume you're using ROM image 1.3? Check out my homepage and enter the configuration that is labeled Amiga 500 1MB.